A home full of people I love.

February 14, 2010

Zeph, Xuan, Azryel(:

A family love that will never ever be replaced by anything in the world<3

Chinese New Year really makes me feel very blessed and fortunate. As usual, we went to chinatown (what we do every year on the eve night of Chinese New Year) and it was wonderful. The fireworks were small scale and the fire crackers were a tad too loud but nevertheless, I was there with my family and that’s really all that matters(: It was when I saw this really old woman, probably in her seventies or her eighties, she was standing beside a table of newspapers under one of the void decks. Then Des asked me why she was selling papers here, late in the night (it was around 1, close to 2 am) and not at home with her family. At first, I don’t know why, but I didn’t know how to answer her, but in the end I said, probably she’s alone, she doesn’t have a family here and well, to her, Chinese New Year is still a working day, she still has to earn her keep. But for us, we are lucky to have our reunion dinner with our loved ones in the comfort of our own homes and for that, I must say we are very blessed and something for us to be thankful about(: So, shouldn’t we always constantly thank our family for always being there for us whether in times of rain or shine? Happy Chinese New Year(:

The family. We were a strange little band of characters trudging through life sharing diseases and toothpaste, coveting one another’s desserts, hiding shampoo, borrowing money, locking each other out of our rooms, inflicting pain and kissing to heal it in the same instant, loving, laughing, defending, and trying to figure out the common thread that bound us all together. ~Erma Bombeck

Leave a comment